Skip to Content

Sargeson Prize for Secondary Schools

First offered in 2019, the Sargeson Prize is New Zealand's richest short story prize, sponsored by the University of Waikato. Named for celebrated New Zealand writer Frank Sargeson, the Prize was conceived by writer Catherine Chidgey, who also lectures in Writing Studies at the University.

Entries open on 1 April for the 2021 Sargeson Prize and close at 11.59pm (NZST) on 30 June 2021. There is no entry fee, and entries are limited to one per writer, per division.

See the Sargeson Prize website for full details, T&Cs and previous winners.

If you have any questions that aren't answered on this page or in the terms and conditions, please follow us on Facebook or Twitter or email [email protected]

2021 Short Story - Secondary Schools Division Free


Closes on Wednesday, June 30, 2021 11:59 PM New Zealand Standard Time (in 52 days)

The Secondary Schools Division is open to students enrolled at a New Zealand secondary school and aged between 16 and 18 years on the date that competition entries close. Entries must be a single story of no more than 3000 words. It must be an original, unpublished piece of work.

  • First Prize: $500
  • Second Prize: $200
  • Third Prize: $100

The winning story will be published by Newsroom in its literary section ReadingRoom.

The winner of the Secondary Schools Division will also be offered a one-week summer residency at the University of Waikato, to be taken up in January or February of the following year. The residency will include accommodation and meals at one of the University of Waikato Halls of Residence, a writing space in the School of Arts, and mentoring from postgraduate students and/or academic staff in the Writing Studies programme. If the winner is under 18 years of age, parental consent will be required.

Please see the Sargeson Prize website for full T&Cs.

Other Related Projects

Sargeson Prize