Skip to Content

The Yale Review 499

Recent cover image or website screenshot for The Yale Review © The Yale Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview
Duosuma Submission Manager

Support this Publisher:
Subscribe


About

At The Yale Review, we believe in the power of perspective. The power of connecting great minds—across disciplines, backgrounds, and generations—around thought-provoking writing. A pre-eminent journal of literature and ideas, The Yale Review has published writers such as Thomas Mann, Virginia Woolf, José Ortega y Gasset, Stanley Cavell, Robert Lowell, John Hersey, Bayard Rustin, Adrienne Rich, James Merrill, and Rita Dove. We’re also a home for students interested in writing and editing at Yale University. Overlooking campus atop a hill in a rambling, cozy three-story house, we mentor students and writers who care about literature, the arts, and the craft of editing.Our student program allows Yale undergraduates and graduate students to apply to be “Yale Review Fellows,” and to receive in-depth training on what it takes to run a magazine, as well as plenty of hands-on experience. At the Review, we aim to engage diverse minds, experiences and points of view in enduring conversations and exceptional writing, to “keep the road open” as Cross once wrote, “for candid statements of different standpoints from writers of exceptional ability.” Because questions endure—it’s the answers that change.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for all submissions, except for cases of financial hardship (limited waivers available).

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 1819

Publication Media & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationUnknown publication frequency.
Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 4 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2024* (approx. 140 days from now) through 30 September 2024. 2
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 7,500 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Unknown payment to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pay ranges from Unknown payment to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2024* (approx. 140 days from now) through 30 September 2024. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Review ReviewUp to 7,500 words.
Essay EssayUp to 7,500 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Unknown payment to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pay ranges from Unknown payment to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2024* (approx. 140 days from now) through 30 September 2024. 17
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem) Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

The Yale Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 19 Feb 2024
Last Audited: 19 Feb 2024 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 02 Aug 2005

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Duotrope listings do not imply endorsement or recommendation of the project being listed. Before submitting, you should use your own judgment to determine whether the project meets your standards.

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.