Sonora Review Annual Contests 30

A project of Sonora Review

Recent cover image or website screenshot for Sonora Review© Sonora Review

Go to contest webpage

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview

Support this Publisher:
Purchase Issue(s)


About

No about text available.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for all submissions.
Want more insight into the affiliated editors' preferences? Read our interview with the editor(s) of Sonora Review.

Country of Publication

United States

Audience

Open to a broad Audience.

Publication Medium & Contest Frequency

Print Publication Print PublicationAwarded 1 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 25 January 2020 (190.7 days from now) through 15 March 2020. 1
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Other (May vary).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionUp to 1,000 words.
Winner's Prize:
We list broad pay categories rather than prize specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMulti-EntriesMedia
OK No Unknown Unknown UnknownText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 25 January 2020 (190.7 days from now) through 15 March 2020. 0
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Other (May vary).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 5,000 words.
Winner's Prize:
We list broad pay categories rather than prize specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMulti-EntriesMedia
OK No Unknown Unknown UnknownText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 25 January 2020 (190.7 days from now) through 15 March 2020. 0
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Other (May vary).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Unknown number of pieces.
Winner's Prize:
We list broad pay categories rather than prize specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem) Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMulti-EntriesMedia
OK No Unknown Unknown UnknownText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Sonora Review Annual Contests Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Members: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 19 May 2019
Last Checked: 15 Jul 2019 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 14 Feb 2019 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 12 May 2014

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.