The Ocotillo Review 25

A project of Kallisto Gaia Press (see other related projects)

Recent cover image or website screenshot for The Ocotillo Review© The Ocotillo Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview

Support this Publisher:
Make a Donation


About

We are a nonprofit literary organization supporting writers at all stages of their careers. Although we don’t shy away from experimental or unusual approaches to literature, our goal is to promote finely crafted writing with an expressive and meaningful voice.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for all submissions.
Want more insight into the editors' preferences? Read our interview with the editor(s).

Country of Publication

United States

Audience

Open to a broad Audience.

Publication Medium & Frequency

Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 2 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2020 (40 days from now) through 31 October 2020. 0
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Experimental, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Other (May vary).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionUp to 1,000 words; Up to 3 pieces.
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 4,200 words.
Novel Excerpt Novel Excerpt1,000 - 4,200 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pay ranges from Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2020 (40 days from now) through 31 October 2020. 0
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Experimental, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Other (May vary).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Article Article800 - 4,000 words.
Essay Essay800 - 4,000 words.
Narrative Nonfiction Narrative Nonfiction800 - 4,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pay ranges from Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2020 (40 days from now) through 31 October 2020. 2
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Experimental, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Other (May vary).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemUp to 60 lines; 3 - 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Semi-pro payment (US$5-49 per poem) Semi-pro payment (US$5-49 per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

The Ocotillo Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Members: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.
The Acacia Fiction Prize NEW! Charges fees for all submissions
Chester B. Himes Memorial Short Fiction Prize Charges fees for all submissions
Julia Darling Memorial Poetry Prize Charges fees for all submissions
The Saguaro Poetry Prize Charges fees for all submissions
Texas Poetry Calendar Charges fees for some submissions

Dates

Last Updated: 26 Jun 2020
Last Checked: 29 Jun 2020 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 24 Feb 2020 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 14 Mar 2017

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.