Skip to Content

Alyssa Eisner Henkin 6

An agent with Birch Path Literary

About

Upon earning my bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Pennsylvania, I fulfilled a childhood dream - to move to New York and work with books. I was fortunate to land a job in editorial at Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. At S&S, the time spent learning about the rapidly flourishing kidlit market from the wisest of colleagues was invaluable to my career. Ultimately my entrepreneurial drive led me to become a literary agent at Trident Media Group. At TMG, I cultivated a stable of bestselling and multi-award-winning children’s book authors. A plethora of ancillary deals for audio, film, theatrical, merchandising, and international editions has made me an ardent advocate for the rights of creators. With the founding of Birch Path Literary, I have the privilege of “soul” proprietorship. I come from a long line of business owners who have always valued professional integrity, optimism, and passion. Just as enterprising Anne Shirley strode down her Birch Path, I thrive on navigating intricate labyrinths with each author and illustrator. We plot and strategize the best long-term opportunities across genre, format, and territory amidst an everchanging but verdant landscape for stories. Timeless telling styles always entice me as a bicentennial baby fed on Bemelmans, Betsy-Tacy, Burnett, and the Brontës. Yet I am especially hungry for bold, change-making projects that promote underrepresented perspectives and foster inclusion. Certainly, the two categories are not mutually exclusive. My favorite books are character-driven, quirky, heartfelt, slyly humorous, and ultimately hopeful.

Want more insight into the agent's preferences? Read our interview.

Country & Year Established

United States Agent since 2006

Fiction Open

In the middle grade and YA space, I am drawn to settings heaped with strong regional and ethnic flavors. I love feisty narrators, classics re-told for modern audiences, history, mystery, family sagas and stories with a social justice bent. Projects that I did not represent but evoke a good sense of my taste are: With The Fire On High, The Penderwicks, and Brown Girl Dreaming. I'm drawn to sweeping tales like The Dutch House and The Vanishing Half- if only they existed for younger readers! On the adult side, I am an audio-book addict. I am drawn to the narrative and instructive nonfiction of Anne Bogle and Gretchen Rubin, and I relish an innovative multi-cast listen in the vein of Daisy Jones and The Six.

Audience:
Open to a broad Audience, including: Adults, Children, Middle grades, Young adults.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Humorous, Literary, Mainstream.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
Novel Novel
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalSimultaneous
OK No OK
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Nonfiction Open

I also love nonfiction for kids and would be eager to represent an I Survived type series for a slightly older audience.

Audience:
Open to a broad Audience, including: Adults.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Humorous, Literary, Mainstream.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: History (Biographies), Memoir.
Types/Lengths:
Book Book
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalSimultaneous
OK No OK
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Alyssa Eisner Henkin Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 04 Nov 2021
Last Checked: 22 Nov 2021 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 17 Oct 2021 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 04 May 2018

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the agency/agent.
  • Unless the agency's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • For agency submissions, it is standard to submit a query letter and sample instead of the full manuscript. Do this unless otherwise instructed.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.