Skip to Content

James McGowan 10

An agent with BookEnds Literary Agency (see other agents at this agency)

About

James McGowan has been with BookEnds, in some capacity, since the summer of 2015. He started as an intern, and as the joke goes: they couldn't get rid of him. Now, James is an Associate Agent and the Social Media Manager for the team. James is a Staten Island native, and holds a Master's Degree in English from the College of Staten Island. He’s been a reader since his first A Series of Unfortunate Events book, and ordered the sequels regularly through Scholastic book orders. His debut picture book, GOOD NIGHT, OPPY, launches in Fall 2021 from Boyds Mills Kane Press. When James is not reading/working/writing, he might be found watching sitcoms or Jeopardy!

Country & Year Established

United States Agent since 2018

Fiction Open

James is currently looking for picture books, illustrators, and adult mystery and crime fiction. He is especially looking for books written by marginalized voices. In picture books, James’ tastes run the gamut. He appreciates a good laugh, and is always looking for humorous books in the vein of Ame Dyckman or Tammi Sauer. A recent favorite is The Big Bed by Bunmi Laditan and Tom Knight. He also loves heartwarming fiction (think Oge Mora or I Talk Like a River) and the intersection between humor and warmth (think Hug? by Charlene Chua). In adult mystery, crime, and domestic suspense James’ tastes tend to be dark. He enjoys anything with a murder or missing person at the center. He enjoys exciting settings, old tropes in new ways, and/or deep family secrets. He is open to dual timeline or multi-POV works. Titles and authors that inspire James’ list include Tana French, Attica Locke, Angie Kim and Rachel Howzel Hall, as well as The Push, Take It Back, My Sister the Serial Killer and Eight Perfect Murders. James is not one for police procedurals. Lastly, he is also looking for grounded horror and speculative fiction that delivers on an eerie and unsettling reading experience. Think LEAVE THE WORLD BEHIND, THE CABIN AT THE END OF THE WOODS, and anything by Simone St. James.

Audience:
Open to a broad Audience, including: Adults, Young adults, All ethnic groups/populations, All genders.
Genres:
GenreSubgenres
General GeneralOpen to all/most Subgenres.
Horror HorrorOpen to all/most Subgenres.
Mystery/Crime Mystery/CrimeOpen to all/most Subgenres, including: Historical.
Suspense/Thriller Suspense/ThrillerOpen to all/most Subgenres, including: Domestic Thriller, Psychological.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Mainstream.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
Novel Novel
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalSimultaneous
OK No OK
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Nonfiction Open

James has a soft spot for non-fiction picture books. He is interested in historical and STEAM topics. Recent favorites include The Undefeated, The Next President and Pluto Gets the Call.

Audience:
Open to a broad Audience, including: Adults, Young adults, All ethnic groups/populations, All genders.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Mainstream.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: History, Science, Technology.
Types/Lengths:
Book Book
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalSimultaneous
OK No OK
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

James McGowan Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 12 Apr 2021
Last Checked: 02 May 2021 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 25 Mar 2021 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 11 Oct 2018

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the agency/agent.
  • Unless the agency's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • For agency submissions, it is standard to submit a query letter and sample instead of the full manuscript. Do this unless otherwise instructed.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.