Chestnut Review 50

Fledgling Listing: This project is new and has been listed with us for less than six months.

About

Why Chestnut Review? We’re not necessarily chained to metaphor, but this seems to us a good one. The chestnut blight that wiped out 4 billion (billion!) trees in North America in the early years of the last century doesn’t kill the stumps. So when those trees were cut down, in many places the stumps still send up young shoots over and over, and when they get old enough, the blight hits them and they die. And yet it sends up another. And another. A better metaphor for stubbornness we haven’t seen. Starting a literary magazine is never a wise idea, really. But we’re a little bit stubborn. A little bit picky in what we want. And if we don’t see it, then we want to create it (another great American value!) To extend the metaphor a little further, let’s fold you in. Artists who persist despite rejection, the intrusions of real life, the bills that must be paid, the jobs that must be done before any art can be created. That’s the best kind of stubbornness. A stubborn belief in your own worth, in the art of your hands, eyes, and mind. We seek storytellers—not just for fiction, but in all the genres we publish. We love clarity in art, but that doesn’t necessarily mean simplicity. Tell us a story. It could be a story in a poem, an essay, an image, but it is still a story. You tell it because it needs to be told. If you can make us feel the same way, we’ll work together to bring that story to the world.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for some submissions. They charge fees for some categories and post-quota submissions.

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 2019

Audience

Open to a broad Audience.

Publication Media & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationPublished 4 x per year.
Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 1 x per year.

Fiction Open Fee-based

Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Seasons/Holidays (Seasons), Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Spring31 Dec 20194
Summer31 Mar 20201
Autumn30 Jun 20201
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionUp to 1,000 words.
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 5,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pay ranges from Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Nonfiction Open Fee-based

Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Literature/Books, Seasons/Holidays (Seasons), Society/Culture, Visual Arts, Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Spring31 Dec 20190
Summer31 Mar 20200
Autumn30 Jun 20200
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 5,000 words.
Narrative Nonfiction Narrative NonfictionUp to 5,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pay ranges from Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Poetry Open

Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Seasons/Holidays (Seasons), Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Spring31 Dec 20193
Summer31 Mar 20201
Autumn30 Jun 20201
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem) Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Visual Art Open

Art Media:
Open to all/most Art Media.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Literature/Books, Seasons/Holidays (Seasons), Society/Culture, Visual Arts, Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Spring31 Dec 20191
Summer31 Mar 20201
Autumn30 Jun 20201
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork ArtworkUp to 10 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (US$50 or more per piece) Professional payment (US$50 or more per piece).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Chestnut Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Members: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 15 Oct 2019
Last Checked: 02 Oct 2019 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 15 May 2019 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 15 May 2019

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.