An Important Announcement
We are excited to announce a brand new offering: Duosuma — Duotrope's Submission Manager.
It helps publishing projects and literary agents receive and manage their submissions quickly, easily, and affordably.

The Sewanee Review 509

See other projects related to this listing

Recent cover image or website screenshot for The Sewanee Review © The Sewanee Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview
Duosuma Account

Support this Publisher:
Subscribe


About

Founded in 1892 by the teacher and critic William Peterfield Trent, the Sewanee Review is America’s oldest continuously published literary quarterly. Many of the twentieth century’s great writers, including T. S. Eliot, William Faulkner, Eudora Welty, Wallace Stevens, Saul Bellow, Katherine Anne Porter, Marianne Moore, and Ezra Pound, have appeared in the magazine. SR also has a long tradition of cultivating emerging talent: we published excerpts of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O’Connor’s first novels, and the early poetry of Robert Penn Warren, Sylvia Plath, Robert Lowell, and Christian Wiman. “Whatever the new literature turns out to be,” wrote editor Allen Tate in 1944, “it will be the privilege of the Sewanee Review to print its share of it, to comment on it, and to try to understand it.” The mission remains unchanged.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for all submissions.

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 1892

Audience

Open to a broad Audience.

Publication Medium & Frequency

Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 4 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2020 (17.1 days from now) through 31 May 2021. 18
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 7,500 words.
Novelette Novelette7,500 - 10,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment to Unknown payment Pays occasionally, unknown rates.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2020 (17.1 days from now) through 31 May 2021. 3
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Critical, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Review ReviewUp to 10,000 words.
Essay EssayUp to 10,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment to Unknown payment Pays occasionally, unknown rates.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2020 (17.1 days from now) through 31 May 2021. 10
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 6 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment to Unknown payment Pays occasionally, unknown rates.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

The Sewanee Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Members: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.
The Sewanee Review Fiction & Poetry Contest Charges fees for all submissions

Dates

Last Updated: 02 Jul 2020
Last Checked: 29 Jul 2020 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 19 Mar 2020 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 09 Sep 2005

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.