Skip to Content

The Deronda Review 3

Recent cover image or website screenshot for The Deronda Review © The Deronda Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview
Duosuma Submission Manager

Support this Publisher:
Subscribe


About

The Deronda Review published its first issue in 2007 as the continuation of The Neovictorian/ Cochlea (founded 1996). The NV/C masthead bore the following explanation: "’Neovictorian’ is a declaration of loyalty to a culture that offered poets an honorable place on the public stage, not only as singers but as thinkers who could help to sort out the complexities of modern knowledge and life. ‘Cochlea’ is a declaration of loyalty to a poetry addressed first of all to the inner ear (in contradistinction to a certain current emphasis on 'visual imagery'). The fact that this second name derives from anatomy rather than culture is meant as a reminder that all forms are grounded in the human form, and that all literary criteria are only approximations to something that must always be listened for without presuppositions.” These commitments continue in The Deronda Review. The name change was prompted by a wish to express a connection which we have always felt, and which becomes more acute with each passing year -- the connection between the kind of Western culture we would like to see, and the survival of Israel. We seek for poems of beauty and integrity that express a commitment to the subject matter, and that speak not only for the monadic self but for at least a potential community. We attempt to present the poetry we receive as a conversation about the world.

Want more insight into the editors' preferences? Read our interview with the editor(s).

Country of Publication

Israel

Publication Medium & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationPublished 1 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 May 2023* (approx. 103 days from now) through 30 June 2023. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience, including: People in a specific region.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Place/Regions (Specific region), Society/Culture (Ethnicity/Race, See guidelines).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionUp to 500 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No OK OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 May 2023* (approx. 103 days from now) through 30 June 2023. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience, including: People in a specific region.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary, Personal.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Place/Regions (Specific region, See guidelines), Society/Culture (Ethnicity/Race, See guidelines).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 500 words.
Narrative Nonfiction Narrative NonfictionUp to 500 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No OK OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Temp Closed

We welcome poetry in traditional forms, because these forms can be a source of strength; and we hope that this will remain one of the most diverse poetry magazines in existence. All kinds and degrees of outward formality, all levels of diction; love poems, nature poems, religious poems, social satire, "light" verse, even, at times, rhymes that verge on the much-decried "greeting-card verse" (shouldn’t every poem contain a greeting?) – all are welcome, provided this particular poem has pith and coherency. Poetic dialogues are especially sought for. The coherency of the magazine is a matter not of stylistic uniformity but of meaningful juxtaposition. Each issue is a composition meant to suggest the "macropoem," the play in which each of us has a part.

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 May 2023* (approx. 103 days from now) through 30 June 2023. 1
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience, including: People in a specific region.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Place/Regions (Specific region), Society/Culture (Ethnicity/Race, See guidelines).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No OK UnknownText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

The Deronda Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 05 Nov 2022
Last Checked: 24 Jan 2023 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 02 Nov 2022 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 05 Nov 2021

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Duotrope listings do not imply endorsement or recommendation of the project being listed. Before submitting, you should use your own judgment to determine whether the project meets your standards.

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.