The Southampton Review 194

See other projects related to this listing

Recent cover image or website screenshot for The Southampton Review© The Southampton Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview

Support this Publisher:
Subscribe
Make a Donation


About

Dedicated to publishing fine fiction, non-fiction, plays, screenplays, poetry, literary cartoons, photography and art, The Southampton Review opens its pages to writers from across the globe whose work is compelling. Our pages are equally devoted to emerging and established writers and artists.

Important: They will close early if they reach their monthly maximum number of submissions.
Want more insight into the editors' preferences? Read our interview with the editor(s).

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 2007

Audience

Open to a broad Audience, including: All nationalities.

Publication Media & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationUnknown publication frequency.
Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 2 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2020 (48.3 days from now) through 01 February 2020. 9
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionUp to 1,000 words.
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 7,500 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment to Unknown payment Pays occasionally, unknown rates.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2020 (48.3 days from now) through 01 February 2020. 0
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary, Personal.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Literature/Books (Writing), Memoir.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 7,500 words.
Narrative Nonfiction Narrative NonfictionUp to 7,500 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment to Unknown payment Pays occasionally, unknown rates.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2020 (48.3 days from now) through 01 February 2020. 2
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment to Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem) Pays occasionally, up to Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Visual Art Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2020 (48.3 days from now) through 01 February 2020. 0
Art Media:
Open to all/most Art Media, including: Illustration, Cartoon/Comic strip, Photography.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork Artwork
Graphic Narrative Graphic NarrativeNo page limits known.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment to Professional payment (US$50 or more per piece) Pays occasionally, up to Professional payment (US$50 or more per piece).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

The Southampton Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Members: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.
The Robert Reeves Prize in Comic Fiction CLOSED Charges fees for all submissions
The Roger Rosenblatt Comic Essay Prize CLOSED Charges fees for all submissions
TSR Nonfiction Prize Charges fees for all submissions
The TSR Short Short Fiction Contest Charges fees for all submissions

Dates

Last Updated: 23 Oct 2019
Last Checked: 12 Nov 2019 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 20 Oct 2019 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 05 Apr 2009

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.