The Georgia Review 813

See other projects related to this listing

Recent cover image or website screenshot for The Georgia Review© The Georgia Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview

Support this Publisher:
Subscribe


About

We seek the very best work whether by Nobel laureates and Pulitzer Prize winners or by little-known (or even previously unpublished) writers.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for some submissions. Look for the fees icon.

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 1947

Audience

Open to a broad Audience.

Publication Medium & Frequency

Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 4 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2019 (30.3 days from now) through 14 May 2020. 8
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionNo specific word count limits known (our definition: up to 1000 words).
Short Story Short StoryNo specific word count limits known (our definition: 1000 to 7500 words).
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK Fees OK No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

We are seeking informed essays that attempt to place their subjects against a broad perspective. For the most part we are not interested in scholarly articles that are narrow in focus and/or overly burdened with footnotes. The ideal essay for The Georgia Review is a provocative, thesis-oriented work that can engage both the intelligent general reader and the specialist.

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2019 (30.3 days from now) through 14 May 2020. 1
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Critical, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Literature/Books (Theory/Analysis/Criticism).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Review ReviewNo specific word count limits known.
Essay EssayNo specific word count limits known.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK Fees OK No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2019 (30.3 days from now) through 14 May 2020. 6
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms, including: Long poetry, Short poetry.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; 3 - 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Semi-pro payment (US$5-49 per poem) to Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem) Pay ranges from Semi-pro payment (US$5-49 per poem) to Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK Fees OK No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Visual Art Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2019 (30.3 days from now) through 14 May 2020. 0
Art Media:
Open to all/most Art Media, including: Wood, Drawing, Pen & ink drawing, Painting, Photography, Sculpture.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork Artwork15 - 20 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Unknown payment Unknown payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK Fees OK No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

The Georgia Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Members: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.
The Loraine Williams Poetry Prize Charges fees for all submissions

Dates

Last Updated: 08 Jul 2019
Last Checked: 19 Jun 2019 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 08 Jul 2019 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 26 Jul 2005

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Include a SASE with all mailed submissions, queries, and requests for guidelines, unless the editor replies via email or guidelines state otherwise.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.