Skip to Content

Jabberwock Review 139

See other projects related to this listing.

Recent cover image or website screenshot for Jabberwock Review © Jabberwock Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview
Duosuma Submission Manager

Support this Publisher:
Subscribe


About

The Jabberwock Review is a literary journal published by students and faculty of Mississippi State University. The journal consists of poetry, fiction, and creative non-fiction. The Jabberwock Review editors are faculty and students of MSU, and funding is provided by the Office of the Provost, the College of Arts & Sciences, the University Honors Program, the Department of English, fundraisers, and subscriptions.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for all submissions, and does not offer monetary payment for accepted submissions.
Want more insight into the editors' preferences? Read our interview with the editor(s).

Country of Publication

United States

Publication Medium & Frequency

Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 2 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2022* (approx. 80 days from now) through 01 October 2022. 3
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Experimental, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionNo specific word count limits known (our definition: up to 1000 words).
Short Story Short StoryNo specific word count limits known (our definition: 1000 to 7500 words).
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2022* (approx. 80 days from now) through 01 October 2022. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Experimental, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayNo specific word count limits known.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2022* (approx. 80 days from now) through 01 October 2022. 1
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Experimental, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Jabberwock Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.
Nancy D. Hargrove Editors' Prize Charges fees for all submissions

Dates

Last Updated: 15 Mar 2022
Last Checked: 15 May 2022 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 16 Dec 2021 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 04 Feb 2006

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Duotrope listings do not imply endorsement or recommendation of the project being listed. Before submitting, you should use your own judgment to determine whether the project meets your standards.

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.