Skip to Content

Cream City Review 521

See other projects related to this listing.

Recent cover image or website screenshot for Cream City Review © Cream City Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview
Duosuma Submission Manager

Support this Publisher:
Subscribe


About

Cream City Review is Milwaukee’s leading literary journal devoted to publishing memorable and energetic pieces that push the boundaries of writing. Continually seeking to explore the relationship between form and content, Cream City Review features fiction, poetry, creative non-fiction, visual art, reviews of contemporary literature and author interviews. Published biannually, Cream City Review is a volunteer-based, non-profit journal which has attracted readers and submissions from around the world.

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 1975

Publication Medium & Frequency

Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 2 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2022* (approx. 32 days from now) through 01 April 2022. 3
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience, including: Americans, People in a specific region.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Experimental, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionUp to 1,000 words.
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 5,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

We are interested in well-crafted creative nonfiction and personal essays, book reviews, well-researched critical essays, and interviews.

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2022* (approx. 32 days from now) through 01 April 2022. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience, including: Americans, People in a specific region.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Critical, Experimental, Literary, Personal.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Literature/Books (Theory/Analysis/Criticism), Memoir, Travel.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Interview InterviewNo specific word count limits known.
Review ReviewNo specific word count limits known.
Essay EssayUp to 5,000 words.
Narrative Nonfiction Narrative NonfictionUp to 5,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2022* (approx. 32 days from now) through 01 April 2022. 2
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience, including: Americans, People in a specific region.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Experimental, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Visual Art Temp Closed

Our aesthetic reflects a general interest in the blending of genre and media. We are especially interested in art which engages Milwaukee and Midwestern communities.

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2022* (approx. 32 days from now) through 01 April 2022. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience, including: Americans, People in a specific region.
Art Media:
Open to all/most Art Media.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Place/Regions (Specific region).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork ArtworkUp to 3 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Cream City Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.
Cream City Review Contests Charges fees for all submissions

Dates

Last Updated: 01 Nov 2021
Last Checked: 23 Nov 2021 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 06 Sep 2021 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 06 Feb 2006

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.