Skip to Content

Southern Indiana Review 384

See other projects related to this listing.

Recent cover image or website screenshot for Southern Indiana Review © Southern Indiana Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview
Duosuma Submission Manager

Support this Publisher:
Make a Donation
Subscribe


About

The Southern Indiana Review presents a cross-section of emerging and established artists and writers whose work is both regional and national in scope and degree of recognition. With the support of the Indiana Arts Commission and National Endowment for the Arts, SIR is published by the University of Southern Indiana and sponsored by the College of Liberal Arts. The editors invite submissions of poetry, fiction, interviews, art work, photography, critical essays, and reviews.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for all submissions.

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 1994

Publication Medium & Frequency

Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 2 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 September 2022* (approx. 34 days from now) through 15 December 2022. 1
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Experimental, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Short Story Short StoryNo specific word count limits known (our definition: 1000 to 7500 words).
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pay ranges from Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 September 2022* (approx. 34 days from now) through 15 December 2022. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Critical, Experimental, Literary, Personal.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Folklore/Mythology, History, Literature/Books (General, Theory/Analysis/Criticism), Memoir, Nature/Environment, Politics/Political Science, Religion/Spirituality, Science, Society/Culture (General, War/Military issues).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Interview InterviewNo specific word count limits known.
Review ReviewNo specific word count limits known.
Essay EssayNo specific word count limits known.
Narrative Nonfiction Narrative NonfictionNo specific word count limits known.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pay ranges from Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 September 2022* (approx. 34 days from now) through 15 December 2022. 9
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Experimental, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem) Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Visual Art Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 September 2022* (approx. 34 days from now) through 15 December 2022. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Art Media:
Open to all/most Art Media.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork Artwork15 - 20 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Semi-pro payment (US$10-49 per piece) to Professional payment (US$50 or more per piece) Pay ranges from Semi-pro payment (US$10-49 per piece) to Professional payment (US$50 or more per piece).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Southern Indiana Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.
Mary C. Mohr Award CLOSED Charges fees for all submissions
Michael Waters Poetry Prize Charges fees for all submissions
Thomas A. Wilhelmus Short Prose Award DNQ Charges fees for all submissions

Dates

Last Updated: 07 Aug 2022
Last Checked: 10 Aug 2022 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 30 Apr 2022 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 06 Feb 2006

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Duotrope listings do not imply endorsement or recommendation of the project being listed. Before submitting, you should use your own judgment to determine whether the project meets your standards.

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.