Skip to Content

Jet Fuel Review 57

About

Through Lewis University, Jet Fuel Review is run entirely by students under the supervision of faculty advisers. In the spirit of journals such as Joliet Junior College’s Wordeater, Illinois Wesleyan University’sTributaries, and the School of the Art Institute of Chicago’s Dear Navigator, Lewis alumna Mary Egan launched a journal run by students with a national scope for publication. Though this journal is run by English majors attending Lewis University, a university nestled in the Midwest, we hope to reach people thousands of miles from our verdant campus by being entirely online.

Important: They close early in their submission period when they reach their submissions quota.

Country of Publication

United States

Audience

Open to a broad Audience.

Publication Medium & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationPublished 2 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

We’re looking for fiction stories with strong character development and captivating plots. It has been rumored that there are no longer new ideas in the field of fiction. If that’s true, give us your most interesting spin on those old tales. Specific language and details are a must to make the story pop out at us. All of us have likes and dislikes when it comes to fiction, but as long as you write something you love and write it well, the subject matter doesn’t matter.

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2021* (approx. 122 days from now) through 15 October 2021. 1
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionUp to 1,000 words.
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 3,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2021* (approx. 122 days from now) through 15 October 2021. 0
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Academic, Literary, Personal.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Literature/Books (Theory/Analysis/Criticism), Memoir.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 3,000 words.
Narrative Nonfiction Narrative NonfictionUp to 3,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Temp Closed

When reading verse, we’re looking for strong imagery and concrete language. Poems that transport us to the author’s head so their vision will stand out to us. We prize poems that use language in interesting ways. As writers, part of your job is to recycle the English language in the most interesting way possible. We’ve all seen these words before, poems that get published here will rearrange those words and use them in new ways. When you’re given those plastic dictionary lines, don’t just make another plastic bottle out of them, try sculpting what you feel.

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2021* (approx. 122 days from now) through 15 October 2021. 0
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms, including: Prose poetry.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemUp to 100 lines; 3 - 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Visual Art Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 August 2021* (approx. 122 days from now) through 15 October 2021. 0
Art Media:
Open to all/most Art Media.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork Artwork3 - 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Jet Fuel Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 10 Apr 2021
Last Checked: 08 Apr 2021 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 23 Dec 2020 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 10 Oct 2011

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.