Skip to Content

The Cumberland River Review 108

About

The Cumberland River Review is a publication of new poetry, fiction, essays, and art. The journal is produced by the department of English at Trevecca Nazarene University, in Nashville, Tennessee, and welcomes submissions from both national and international writers and artists.

Want more insight into the editors' preferences? Read our interview with the editor(s).

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 2012

Publication Medium & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationPublished 4 x per year.

Fiction Open

Dates:
Open to fiction submissions through 30 April 2022* (approx. 192 days from now). 2
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 5,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK OK No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Open

Dates:
Open to nonfiction submissions through 30 April 2022* (approx. 192 days from now). 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 5,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK OK No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Open

Dates:
Open to poetry submissions through 30 April 2022* (approx. 192 days from now). 5
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; 3 - 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK OK No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Visual Art Open

Dates:
Open to visual art submissions through 30 April 2022* (approx. 192 days from now). 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Art Media:
Open to all/most Art Media.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork ArtworkUp to 10 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

The Cumberland River Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 01 Sep 2021
Last Checked: 23 Sep 2021 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 17 Jun 2021 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 06 Jan 2012

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Include a SASE with all mailed submissions, queries, and requests for guidelines, unless the editor replies via email or guidelines state otherwise.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.