Skip to Content

The Florida Review Editors' Award 40

A project of The Florida Review (see other related projects).

About

No about text available.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for all submissions.
Want more insight into the affiliated editors' preferences? Read our interview with the editor(s) of The Florida Review.

Country of Publication

United States

Publication Medium & Contest Frequency

Print Publication Print PublicationAwarded 1 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2023* (approx. 91 days from now) through 15 April 2023. 1
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 6,250 words.
Winner's Prize:
We list broad pay categories rather than prize specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMulti-EntriesMedia
OK No No OK NoText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2023* (approx. 91 days from now) through 15 April 2023. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 6,250 words.
Narrative Nonfiction Narrative NonfictionUp to 6,250 words.
Winner's Prize:
We list broad pay categories rather than prize specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMulti-EntriesMedia
OK No No OK NoText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2023* (approx. 91 days from now) through 15 April 2023. 1
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 5 pieces.
Winner's Prize:
We list broad pay categories rather than prize specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem) Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMulti-EntriesMedia
OK No No OK NoText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

The Florida Review Editors' Award Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.
Aquifer: The Florida Review Online Charges fees for all submissions
The Florida Review Charges fees for some submissions
Jeanne Leiby Memorial Chapbook Contest Charges fees for all submissions

Dates

Last Updated: 14 Jul 2022
Last Checked: 27 Sep 2022 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 27 Jun 2022 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 14 Jan 2012

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Duotrope listings do not imply endorsement or recommendation of the project being listed. Before submitting, you should use your own judgment to determine whether the project meets your standards.

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.