Roanoke Review 92

See other projects related to this listing

About

The Roanoke Review was founded in 1967 by poet Henry Taylor out of Roanoke College in Salem Virginia, where it remains to this day. When Taylor left a few years later, he was replaced by Robert Walter, who edited the journal for the next thirty years, turning it from a small local affair to a national review that published well-known writers from around the world. In its nearly half-century of existence, the Roanoke Review has established itself as an accessible read, intent on publishing down-to-earth writers with a sense of place, a sense of language, and—perhaps most importantly—a sense of humor. The Review is also known for its fine cover art, which features some of the best artists of southwestern Virginia. Having shifted to an entirely on-line format in 2015, the Review intends to continue this tradition with a new gallery format.

Important: They close early and then re-open the next month if they reach their monthly quota.

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 1967

Audience

Open to a broad Audience.

Publication Medium & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationPublished on a rolling basis.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2020 (224 days from now) through 01 December 2020. 0
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 5,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2020 (224 days from now) through 01 December 2020. 0
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 5,000 words.
Narrative Nonfiction Narrative NonfictionUp to 5,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2020 (224 days from now) through 01 December 2020. 2
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemUp to 100 lines; Up to 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions Text format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Visual Art Temp Closed

While we welcome submissions of visual poetry and photographic essays from people around the world, we publish paintings and drawing only by those from or living in southwestern Virginia.

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2020 (224 days from now) through 01 December 2020. 0
Art Media:
Drawing, Painting, Photography.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Place/Regions (Specific region).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork Artwork
Photo Essay Photo EssayUp to 15 photos.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Roanoke Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Members: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.
Roanoke Review Fiction Contest CLOSED Charges fees for all submissions

Dates

Last Updated: 01 Dec 2019
Last Checked: 20 Jan 2020 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 30 Oct 2019 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 12 Feb 2006

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.