Skip to Content

The Nassau Review 65

About

We welcome work that is innovative, captivating, well-crafted, and unique work that is traditional as well as pieces that cross boundaries of genre and tradition. New writers and seasoned writers are both welcome. All work must be in English. The Nassau Review’s volunteer editors, proofreaders, and technical support all work at Nassau Community College in Garden City, Long Island, NY. Our interns are current and former NCC students. We believe in supporting the artistic community and promoting good writing locally, nationally, and internationally.

Submission Caps: They may close to submissions early if they reach their quota. Check before submitting.
Want more insight into the editors' preferences? Read our interview with the editor(s).

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 1964

Publication Medium & Frequency

Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 1 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2024* (approx. 180 days from now) through 05 December 2024. 1
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience. Excluding: Children.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Humorous, Literary.
Topics:
Other (May vary).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash Fiction100 - 1,000 words.
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 3,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pays occasionally, up to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2024* (approx. 180 days from now) through 05 December 2024. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience. Excluding: Children.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Humorous, Literary, Personal.
Topics:
Other (May vary).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay Essay100 - 3,000 words.
Narrative Nonfiction Narrative Nonfiction100 - 3,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pays occasionally, up to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2024* (approx. 180 days from now) through 05 December 2024. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience. Excluding: Children.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Humorous, Literary.
Topics:
Other (May vary).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemUp to 50 lines; Up to 3 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment to Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem) Pays occasionally, up to Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Visual Art Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2024* (approx. 180 days from now) through 05 December 2024. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience. Excluding: Children.
Art Media:
Open to all/most Art Media, including: Drawing, Photography.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Other (May vary).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork ArtworkUp to 3 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

The Nassau Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 03 Feb 2024
Last Audited: 08 Oct 2023 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 03 Feb 2012

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Duotrope listings do not imply endorsement or recommendation of the project being listed. Before submitting, you should use your own judgment to determine whether the project meets your standards.

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.