Harvard Review 420

Recent cover image or website screenshot for Harvard Review© Harvard Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview

Support this Publisher:
Subscribe


About

In the nearly two decades since it was launched, Harvard Review has emerged as a major American literary journal with an eclectic mix of contributors in a wide variety of genres and styles. Contributors to the journal include: Arthur Miller, Joyce Carol Oates, Seamus Heaney, Jorie Graham, John Updike, John Ashbery, Alice Hoffman, and Gore Vidal, as well as those who are making their literary debut. Recent selections have been anthologized in: Best American Essays 2010, 2009, 2004, and 2003, Best American Poetry 2008, 2006, and 2002, Best American Short Stories 2005 and 2003, Best American Mystery Stories 2006, Best New Poets 2008, Pushcart Prize Anthology 2004 and 2001. Harvard Review publishes short fiction, poetry, essays, drama, and book reviews. Writers at all stages of their careers are invited to apply, however, we can only publish a very small fraction of the material we receive.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for some submissions. Look for the fees icon.
Important: Do not submit more than twice in one year.

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 1992

Audience

Open to a broad Audience.

Publication Media & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationUnknown publication frequency.
Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 2 x per year.

Fiction Open

Dates:
Open to fiction submissions through 27 November 2019 (67.6 days from now). 17
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 7,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK Fees OK No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Nonfiction Open

Dates:
Open to nonfiction submissions through 27 November 2019 (67.6 days from now). 3
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 7,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK Fees OK No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Poetry Open

Dates:
Open to poetry submissions through 27 November 2019 (67.6 days from now). 10
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK Fees OK No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Harvard Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Members: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 12 Sep 2019
Last Checked: 01 Sep 2019 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 07 May 2019 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 03 Apr 2006

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Include a SASE with all mailed submissions, queries, and requests for guidelines, unless the editor replies via email or guidelines state otherwise.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.