Skip to Content

Michigan Quarterly Review MQR

See other projects related to this listing.

About

1,436 members set this magazine as a Favorite.

Michigan Quarterly Review is an interdisciplinary and international literary journal, combining distinctive voices in poetry, fiction, and nonfiction, as well as works in translation. Our work extends online as well, where we publish cultural commentary alongside reviews and interviews with writers, artists, and cultural figures around the world. The flagship literary journal of the University of Michigan, our magazine embraces creative urgency and cultural relevance, aiming to challenge conventions and address long-overdue conversations. As we continue to promote an expansive and inclusive vision, we seek work from established and emerging writers with diverse aesthetics and experiences. Past special issues have included writing on the Flint Water Crisis, Iran, and Caregiving. We have published prose by Margaret Atwood, Charles Baxter, Raymond Carver, Peter Ho Davies, Mary Gaitskill, Ursula K. Le Guin, Arthur Miller, Joyce Carol Oates, Marge Piercy, Virgil Suárez, Corey Van Landingham, Hanan al-Shaykh, Hananah Zaheer, Francine Prose, Elizabeth Alexander, Juan Cole, Joan Silber, and James Wood. And poetry by Jasmine V. Bailey, Robert Bly, Eavan Boland, Lucie Brock Broido, Anne Carson, Victoria Chang, Rita Dove, V.V. Ganeshananthan, Francine J. Harris, Robert Hass, Brenda Hillman, Fady Joudah, Laura Kasischke, Deborah Landau, Karen An-hwei Lee, Philip Levine, Airea D. Matthews, Shane McCrae, Thylias Moss, Sharon Olds, Jacques Rancourt, Julian Randall, Paisley Rekdal, Adrienne Rich, Mary Ruefle, sam sax, Elizabeth Schmuhl, Danez Smith, Cathy Song, and John Updike.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for all submissions.

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 1962

Publication Medium & Frequency

Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 4 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:

Will be open to submissions from 01 August 2024* (approx. 63 days from now) through 01 November 2024. 7

Audience:

Open to a broad Audience.

Genres:
General General
Lengths:
Short Story Short Story1,500 - 7,000 words.
Styles:

Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.

Topics:

Open to all/most Topics, including: Other (May vary).

Payment:

Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pay ranges from Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Note: We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.

Submissions:

Method: Submittable submission manager.
Reprints: Reprints are NOT allowed.
Simultaneous submissions: Simultaneous submissions are allowed.
Media: Text.


Nonfiction Temp Closed

Nonfiction submitted to the print publication may be considered for MQR Online.

Dates:

Will be open to submissions from 01 August 2024* (approx. 63 days from now) through 01 November 2024. 0

Audience:

Open to a broad Audience.

Lengths:
Essay Essay1,500 - 7,000 words.
Styles:

Open to all/most Styles, including: Critical, Literary.

Topics:

Open to all/most Topics, including: Literature/Books (General, Theory/Analysis/Criticism), Politics/Political Science, Society/Culture, Other (May vary).

Payment:

Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pay ranges from Semi-pro payment (1-4.9 US cents per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Note: We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.

Submissions:

Method: Submittable submission manager.
Reprints: Reprints are NOT allowed.
Simultaneous submissions: Simultaneous submissions are allowed.
Media: Text.


Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:

Will be open to submissions from 01 August 2024* (approx. 63 days from now) through 01 November 2024. 5

Audience:

Open to a broad Audience.

Genres:
General General
Lengths:
Poem PoemNo line limits known; 3 - 6 pieces.
Poetry Forms:

Open to all/most Forms.

Styles:

Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.

Topics:

Open to all/most Topics, including: Other (May vary).

Payment:

Semi-pro payment (US$5-49 per poem) Semi-pro payment (US$5-49 per poem).
Note: We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.

Submissions:

Method: Submittable submission manager.
Reprints: Reprints are NOT allowed.
Simultaneous submissions: Simultaneous submissions are allowed.
Media: Text.


Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Michigan Quarterly Review Submission Statistics — Free Preview!

The statistics in this section are compiled from submission reports sent to us through our submission tracker. They are not provided by the publication's editors/staff or by Duotrope's admins. Information in this section is updated a few times per day. Learn more about the statistics.
This project ranks among the 25 Slowest Fiction Publishers in our database.
This project ranks among the 25 Slowest Nonfiction Publishers in our database.
This project ranks among the 25 Slowest Poetry Publishers in our database.
AccuracyWe have received 291 reports from 270 different members within the past 12 months, not including pending responses (see below). The more responses reported, the more accurate the information.
Days Reported0 min | 259.7 mean avg | 283.0 median | 496 max days (109.3 std dev)
Responses78.70 %
Acceptances2.41 % of submissions accepted (191.3 avg. days per acceptance) | 2.59 % of submitters accepted Rejections are often underreported, which skews the statistics in favor of acceptances. Most publishers have a lower acceptance rate than indicated here.
Rejections76.29 % (290.6 avg. days per rejection) | 8.1 % personal, 66.7 % form, 25.2 % unspecified
Non-Responses21.30 %
Lost/Returned-
Never Responded1.03 % (405.7 avg. days before reporting submissions as never responded)
Withdrawals20.27 % (144.1 avg. days per withdrawal)
Pending236 responses are pending (37 min | 172.4 mean avg | 139.5 median | 667 max days waiting | 93.2 std dev) from 225 different members This only includes pending reports from users who have been active on Duotrope within the past 30 days

Other Information

The editors will try to make a decision within 180 days. (77.0 % of the responses reported to us for this listing have taken longer than 180 days.)
Do not query on the status of your submission before 365 days have passed.
The most common submission fee paid: USD $3.00.
Submissions are acknowledged within 5 days on average.
Most recent response reported was received on 10 May 2024.
Responses have been received for submissions sent as recently as 04 Feb 2024.

Work submitted here was also submitted to...

This section is available to subscribers only. Sign up and start your free trial today!

Members accepted here also had work accepted by...

This section is available to subscribers only. Become a member and start your free trial today!

Your Submissions

This section is available to subscribers only. Join today!

James A. Winn Prize in Nonfiction Charges fees for all submissions
Jesmyn Ward Prize in Fiction Charges fees for all submissions
Laurence Goldstein Prize in Poetry Charges fees for all submissions
MQR Mixtape Charges fees for all submissions

Dates

Last Updated: 02 May 2024
Last Audited: 20 Mar 2024. (We audit each active listing twice a year. Learn more at link.)
Date Added: 10 Feb 2006

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Duotrope listings do not imply endorsement or recommendation of the project being listed. Before submitting, you should use your own judgment to determine whether the project meets your standards.

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.