Duosuma Duotrope's Submission Manager

Duosuma Account Settings

The Manage Account Settings page is where you can manage the global settings for your Duosuma Account. To access this page, you must be the Account Owner or have "Manage Account" privileges.

Here are the available settings:

Account Information

Account Name: (Required.) This is the name for the account. It is usually the name of the company, organization, or primary publication. It does not need to be a legal entity, but it does need to reflect the group responsible for the publication projects.

Default Website: (Required.) This is the website for the account. This setting will be applied by default to all projects under the account, but can be overridden in the Project Settings.

Contact Email: (Required.) A contact email is required for all Duosuma accounts. Please make sure this email address is kept up to date. If we cannot contact you with invoices, receipts, and other important matters, we may suspend the account. All contact information you provide, including this email address, is protected under the terms of our Privacy Policy. (The only email address that may be revealed to submitters is the Reply Email address in Project Settings, which is used as the reply-to address.)

Billing Email: (Optional.) If you'd like us to send invoices, receipts, and other billing matters to a second address in addition to the primary Contact Email, you may provide one.

Time Zone: (Required.) This sets the time zone for the account (default is UTC). The time zone setting is used for Submission Period opening and closing dates, and can be overridden on individual Submission Period entries.

Default Twitter Account: (Optional.) If you have a Twitter account that you'd like us to share, set your default Twitter handle. This setting will be applied by default to all projects under the account, but can be overridden in the Project Settings.

Display Settings

Banner Image: (Optional.) If you'd like a banner image to be displayed on your public Project and Submit pages, you can upload an image. By default, the banner will apply to all projects under the account, but you can override it if necessary.
NOTE: For best results, use an image that is wider than it is tall. Also, it will be displayed on a white background, so keep that in mind if it uses transparency.

Custom Color: (Optional.) You can set the highlight color that will appear on buttons and other elements of your public Project and Submit pages. By default, the color will apply to all projects under the account, but you can override it if necessary. We highly recommend that you select a mid-tone color. The system will take light, medium, and dark tones of that color and use those to generate the highlight elements with appropriate contrast so that the text is still legible. If you don't select a Custom Color, your public Project and Submit pages will use the default Duosuma color scheme.

Submission Settings

Assignment System: How should new submissions be assigned? The options are:

  • Auto: Load Balancing: (Default.) As submissions come in, they are assigned to members of the team who are set up to receive that type of submission. The Load Balancing option will attempt to keep the workload as even as possible across all people in your Assignment Pool.
  • Auto: Round Robin: As submissions come in, they are assigned to members of the team who are set up to receive that type of submission in alternating fashion.
  • Auto: Random: As submissions come in, they are assigned to members of the team who are set up to receive that type of submission. Instead of alternating among the team members, they are randomly assigned.
  • Predetermined: Each new submission will be assigned to the specific person/people selected for that project/call.
  • Manual: Submissions are never automatically assigned. Instead, they must be manually assigned.

For more information, please read our in-depth guide to Submission Assignment.

Rating System: How will your team rate submissions? (Ratings are an internal feature; the submitter will never see them.) The options are:

  • Accept/Decline: Members of the team can vote to "Accept" or "Decline" a submission only. (Note: Voting to "accept" or "decline" a submission does not actually accept or decline that submission; it only shares your vote with the team.)
  • Yes/No/Maybe: Members of the team can submit a rating of "Yes," "No," or "Maybe" on a submission.
  • 5 Star Rating: (Default.) Members of the team can rate a submission between 1 star (lowest) and 5 stars (highest).
  • Letter Grade: Members of the team can rate submissions on a grading scale between A+ and F.
  • No Rating System: If you don't want your team members to rate submissions, you can turn off the feature using this setting.

You also have the option to Require Comments with all ratings.

If you want to use custom tags to label submissions, be sure to Enable Tags.

A note about changing rating systems: When you change from one rating system to another, we convert existing ratings to the new system, but it may not work as expected. For that reason, we don't recommend changing the rating system at a later date unless absolutely necessary.

Submission Cap: (Optional.) If you want to set an Account-level submission cap, do that here. Once you receive that number of submissions across all projects and calls, submissions will automatically close until the start of your next billing period, when the counter will reset and submissions will resume. If you would rather set a Project-level cap or a Call-level cap, do that on those respective pages. (Note that caps count the number of submissions, not the number of submission credits, so plan accordingly.)

Online Viewing: This sets whether submission manuscripts can be shown inline in the browser, and if so, using what technologies. Here are the options:

  • No Online Viewing: (Default.) The submission files will not be displayed in the browser. The reader will need to either download the file or send it to their Kindle device (if they've set that up).
  • Viewing through Google Docs: The browser will use Google Docs technology to display any Google Docs-compatible files (doc, docx, txt, odt). PDFs will also be displayed inline.
  • Viewing through Office 365: The browser will use Office 365 technology to display Office files (doc, docx). PDFs will also be displayed inline.
  • Viewing through Google Docs or Office 365: The browser will use Office 365 technology to display Office files or Google Docs to display other compatible files. PDFs will also be displayed inline.
  • Convert to PDF and View: Documents (other than Pages format) will be converted to PDF and displayed in the browser.
Important information: If you select an option that uses Google Docs and/or Office 365, all files viewed will be exposed to Google or Microsoft's servers, as applicable. If that is not permitted by law in your jurisdiction or is against your business practices, select "No Online Viewing" or "Convert to PDF."
Also, be aware that any of the viewing options may alter the formatting from that of the original document.
Finally, be aware that at this time, we cannot display Pages documents in the browser using any setting.

Filenames: This sets the naming convention on downloaded submission files.

  • Pattern: (default) For anonymous submissions, it uses a title-date pattern; on non-anonymous submissions, it uses a lastname-title-date pattern. Ex: Poe-Telltale-Heart-430119.docx
  • Original: When possible, it will use the file name as uploaded by the submitter. Ex: myfile.pdf
  • Tokenized: This protects the identity of the submitter and uses a token based on the submission ID and is the only way to guarantee that personal information won't be accidentally revealed in the filename on anonymous submissions. Ex: Al6Eab-OrDE2-ia5Am-LM237-qVDm2jpw9.rtf

File Deletion: This sets when submission files for declined (rejected) submissions are deleted from Duosuma's servers. (Files for acceptances and pending submissions are never automatically deleted.)

  • Do not delete
  • Delete upon rejection
  • Delete 30 days after rejection
  • Delete 90 days after rejection (default)
  • Delete 180 days after rejection
  • Delete 365 days after rejection
Your team is responsible for properly disposing of any submission files that they have downloaded to their computers/devices.

See more Documentation.
Have any questions about this? Ask us.