Skip to Content

The Iowa Review Awards 94

A project of The Iowa Review (see other related projects).

About

No about text available.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for all submissions.

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 2003

Publication Medium & Contest Frequency

Print Publication Print PublicationAwarded 1 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2022* (approx. 32 days from now) through 31 January 2022. 5
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 6,250 words.
Winner's Prize:
We list broad pay categories rather than prize specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMulti-EntriesMedia
OK No No OK OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2022* (approx. 32 days from now) through 31 January 2022. 1
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 6,250 words.
Winner's Prize:
We list broad pay categories rather than prize specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMulti-EntriesMedia
OK No No OK OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 January 2022* (approx. 32 days from now) through 31 January 2022. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Unknown number of pieces.
Winner's Prize:
We list broad pay categories rather than prize specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem) Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMulti-EntriesMedia
OK No No OK OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

The Iowa Review Awards Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 14 Jul 2021
Last Checked: 18 Nov 2021 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 14 Jul 2021 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 12 Jan 2012

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.