Skip to Content

Volney Road Review 22

About

Volney Road Review is a literary magazine based in Youngstown, Ohio. We have decided to dedicate the magazine to the Youngstown great, Volney Rogers, whose actions led to the creation of Mill Creek Park. VRR is also dedicated to Volney Road, a historical neighborhood in Youngstown, which contains some amazing homes—hidden gems of the city. Our goal is to give a platform to the unpublished gems hidden within the repertoires of established and emerging authors. Send us the work that you think will change the world.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for all submissions.

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 2018

Publication Medium & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationPublished 2 x per year.

Fiction Open Fee-based

Dates:
Open to fiction submissions through 12 August 2022 11:59 PM UTC (in 4 days, 13 hours). 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionUp to 1,000 words.
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 2,500 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Token payment (under 1 US cent per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pay ranges from Token payment (under 1 US cent per word) to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Poetry Open Fee-based

Dates:
Open to poetry submissions through 12 August 2022 11:59 PM UTC (in 4 days, 13 hours). 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 3 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Semi-pro payment (US$5-49 per poem) Semi-pro payment (US$5-49 per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Visual Art Open Fee-based

Dates:
Open to visual art submissions through 12 August 2022 11:59 PM UTC (in 4 days, 13 hours). 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Art Media:
Open to all/most Art Media.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork ArtworkUp to 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Semi-pro payment (US$10-49 per piece) Semi-pro payment (US$10-49 per piece).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Volney Road Review Submission Statistics — Free Preview!

The statistics in this section are compiled from submission reports sent to us through our submission tracker. They are not provided by the publication's editors/staff or by Duotrope's admins. Information in this section is updated a few times per day.
This project ranks among the Most Personable Poetry Publishers in our database.
Filter options:
 
AccuracyWe have received 130 reports from 51 different members within the past 12 months, not including pending responses (see below). The more responses reported, the more accurate the information.
Days Reported2 min | 78.2 mean avg | 73.0 median | 156 max days (34.2 std dev)
Responses95.39 %
Acceptances4.62 % of submissions accepted (73.3 avg. days per acceptance) | 11.76 % of submitters accepted Rejections are often underreported, which skews the statistics in favor of acceptances. Most publishers have a lower acceptance rate than indicated here.
Rejections90.77 % (80.9 avg. days per rejection) | 88.1 % personal, 2.5 % form, 9.3 % unspecified
Non-Responses4.62 %
Lost/Returned-
Never Responded-
Withdrawals4.62 % (30.7 avg. days per withdrawal)
Pending29 responses are pending (1 min | 18.9 mean avg | 18.0 median | 62 max days waiting | 14.7 std dev) from 21 different members This only includes pending reports of users who have been active on this site within the past 30 days

Other Information

The most common submission fee paid: USD $2.00.
Most submissions are acknowledged on the same day.
Most recent response reported was received on 12 Apr 2022.
Responses have been received for submissions sent as recently as 31 Jan 2022.

Work submitted here was also submitted to...

This section is available to subscribers only.

Members accepted here also had work accepted by...

This section is available to subscribers only.

Your Submissions

This section is available to subscribers only. Sign up and start your free trial today!

Dates

Last Updated: 21 Jul 2022
Last Checked: 14 Jul 2022 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 25 Feb 2022 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 18 Sep 2018

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Duotrope listings do not imply endorsement or recommendation of the project being listed. Before submitting, you should use your own judgment to determine whether the project meets your standards.

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.