Skip to Content

Eastern Iowa Review 106

A project of Port Yonder Press (see other related projects).

Recent cover image or website screenshot for Eastern Iowa Review © Eastern Iowa Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview

Support this Publisher:
Make a Donation


About

We seek the linguistically unique and beautiful: lyricism is prized here so it stands to reason that our favorite writing forms are the prose poem and the lyric essay. On a side note, we've published many recognized authors as well as first timers. Be assured that your writing will stand on its own at Eastern Iowa Review.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for some submissions. They charge fees for some periods, expedited response and feedback.
Important: Special issues may have different genre, length, and theme requirements. As always, check their guidelines before submitting. Submissions close early if they reach their limit, so submit early in the submission period.
Important Notice: On our latest check, they were not open to submissions, although their website states they should be.
Want more insight into the editors' preferences? Read our interview with the editor(s).

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 2014

Publication Media & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationUnknown publication frequency.
Print Publication Print PublicationUnknown publication frequency.

Fiction Open

Dates:
Open to fiction submissions through 01 February 2023 11:59 PM EST (in 1 day, 14 hours). 1
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
GenreSubgenres
General General
Open to all/most Genres Open to all/most Genres Excluding: Erotica, Horror.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Experimental, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Come, Wander02 Feb 2023 04:59 UTC2
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionNo specific word count limits known (our definition: up to 1000 words).
Short Story Short StoryNo specific word count limits known (our definition: 1000 to 7500 words).
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pays occasionally, up to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Nonfiction Open

Dates:
Open to nonfiction submissions through 01 February 2023 11:59 PM EST (in 1 day, 14 hours). 2
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Experimental, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Nature/Environment (Nature), Place/Regions, Society/Culture, Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Come, Wander02 Feb 2023 04:59 UTC2
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 1,500 words; Up to 3 pieces.
Narrative Nonfiction Narrative NonfictionUp to 1,500 words; Up to 3 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Pays occasionally, up to Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Poetry Open

Dates:
Open to poetry submissions through 01 February 2023 11:59 PM EST (in 1 day, 14 hours). 3
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
GenreSubgenres
General General
Open to all/most Genres Open to all/most Genres Excluding: Erotica, Horror.
Poetry Forms:
Prose poetry.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Experimental, Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Come, Wander02 Feb 2023 04:59 UTC5
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 3 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment to Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem) Pays occasionally, up to Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Visual Art Open

Dates:
Open to visual art submissions through 01 February 2023 11:59 PM EST (in 1 day, 14 hours). 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Art Media:
Open to all/most Art Media. Excluding: Photography.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Come, Wander02 Feb 2023 04:59 UTC0
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork ArtworkUnknown number of pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Eastern Iowa Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 30 Jan 2023
Last Checked: 26 Dec 2022 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 21 Dec 2022 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 24 Jul 2014
Listing may be deactivated on:
01 Mar 2023
This listing is currently being reviewed for a qualification issue.

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Duotrope listings do not imply endorsement or recommendation of the project being listed. Before submitting, you should use your own judgment to determine whether the project meets your standards.

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.