Nixes Mate Review 34

Recent cover image or website screenshot for Nixes Mate Review© Nixes Mate Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview


About

Nixes Mate is a tiny island in Boston Harbor. We want to challenge the preconceived notions of reading on the web by using off-the-shelf technology to build a best-in-breed literary magazine. More than a magazine, it's a website. We feature writers that use all 26 letters of the alphabet and then some. We're not afraid of punctuation; semicolons don't frighten us. Not even a little bit. We feature small-batch artisanal literature, created by writers who've been honing their craft the time-honored way: one line at a time.

Want more insight into the editors' preferences? Read our interview with the editor(s).

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 2016

Audience

Open to a broad Audience.

Publication Media & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationPublished 4 x per year.
Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 1 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

We like stories. Good stories. Strong stories. Short stories and long. We like narrative and minimalism and words that dance across the page. We like dialogue that is direct and sounds like a real person talking.

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 October 2019 (0.7 days from now) through 15 December 2019. 0
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionUp to 500 words; Up to 2 pieces.
Flash Fiction Flash Fiction500 - 1,000 words.
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 2,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

For us, nonfiction combines art and fact with the finest writing. It is a place where memoir and journalism and criticism can meet and have a coffee and discuss the beauty of a maparium without falling for ideology.

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 October 2019 (0.7 days from now) through 15 December 2019. 0
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 3,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Poetry Temp Closed

Poetry should tell a story in language that excites us and grabs us and makes us want to feel ready to fix the world, or destroy it if need be, to defy gravity and end time.

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 October 2019 (0.7 days from now) through 15 December 2019. 0
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Visual Art Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 15 October 2019 (0.7 days from now) through 15 December 2019. 0
Art Media:
Photography.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork ArtworkUnknown number of pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.

Nixes Mate Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Members: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 03 Oct 2019
Last Checked: 30 Sep 2019 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 02 Sep 2019 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 03 Oct 2016

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.