Skip to Content

The Shallow Tales Review 0

Recent cover image or website screenshot for The Shallow Tales Review © The Shallow Tales Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview
Duosuma Submission Manager

Support this Publisher:
Make a Donation


About

The Shallow Tales Review literary magazine is an online literary outfit that aims to share the unique African story. It was founded in August 2019 by Nigerian writer, critic and editor, Nzube Nlebedim. On The Shallow Tales Review, we take it to heart the publication of works that tell of the African story; of the African who rises from his shallow depths to prominence. We chronicle the shift of the shallow African from mediocrity to success.

Want more insight into the editors' preferences? Read our interview with the editor(s).

Country of Publication & Year Established

Nigeria Established in 2020

Publication Medium & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationPublished 6 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 November 2021* (approx. 6 days from now) through 20 November 2021. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Place/Regions (Specific region).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Short Story Short Story1,500 - 4,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 November 2021* (approx. 6 days from now) through 20 November 2021. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Critical, Literary, Mainstream.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Literature/Books (Theory/Analysis/Criticism, See guidelines), Place/Regions (Specific region).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Review Review1,500 - 4,000 words.
Article Article1,500 - 4,000 words.
Essay Essay1,500 - 4,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 November 2021* (approx. 6 days from now) through 20 November 2021. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Place/Regions (Specific region).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemUp to 40 lines; Up to 3 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Visual Art Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 November 2021* (approx. 6 days from now) through 20 November 2021. 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Art Media:
Open to all/most Art Media, including: Photography.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Place/Regions (Specific region).
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork Artwork
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

The Shallow Tales Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 20 Sep 2021
Last Checked: 07 Oct 2021 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 26 Jul 2021 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 29 Jan 2021

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.