Skip to Content

The Ilanot Review 66

About

The Ilanot Review is an international journal based in Israel, publishing a variety of poetry, fiction, nonfiction and genres in between. We especially love translations and hybrid work. Our themed editions are edited by alumni and faculty from the Shaindy Rudoff Graduate Program in Creative Writing at Bar-Ilan University, and by guest editors.

Fees Notice: This project charges fees (or requires purchases) for some submissions. They charge fees for some submission periods and post-quota submissions.
Important: They may close to free submissions early if they reach their submission quota. Check before submitting.

Country of Publication & Year Established

Israel Established in 2009

Publication Medium & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationPublished 2 x per year.

Fiction Open

Dates:
Open to fiction submissions through 31 July 2022* (approx. 25 days from now). 1
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Want31 Jul 2022*1
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionUp to 400 words; Up to 3 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Open

Dates:
Open to nonfiction submissions through 31 July 2022* (approx. 25 days from now). 1
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Want31 Jul 2022*1
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 3,000 words; Unknown number of pieces.
Narrative Nonfiction Narrative NonfictionUp to 3,000 words; Unknown number of pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Open

Dates:
Open to poetry submissions through 31 July 2022* (approx. 25 days from now). 3
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Want31 Jul 2022*4
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Visual Art Open

Dates:
Open to visual art submissions through 31 July 2022* (approx. 25 days from now). 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Art Media:
Open to all/most Art Media, including: Cartoon/Comic strip, Photography.
Art Styles:
Open to all/most Art Styles.
Topics:
Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Want31 Jul 2022*0
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Artwork ArtworkUp to 6 pieces.
Graphic Narrative Graphic NarrativeNo page limits known.
Photo Essay Photo EssayNo image limits known.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
No monetary payment No monetary payment.
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKImage format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

The Ilanot Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 12 Jun 2022
Last Checked: 16 Jun 2022 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 12 Jun 2022 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 05 May 2011

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Duotrope listings do not imply endorsement or recommendation of the project being listed. Before submitting, you should use your own judgment to determine whether the project meets your standards.

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.