Skip to Content

Kenyon Review 1,246

See other projects related to this listing.

About

The mission of The Kenyon Review is to identify exceptionally talented emerging writers, especially from diverse communities, and publish their work (fiction, poetry, essays, interviews, reviews, etc.) alongside the many distinguished, established writers featured in its pages. Kenyon Review is also committed to the advancement of literary writing through education, seeking to improve the skills of young people and adults through intensive, high quality workshops.

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 1939

Publication Media & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationPublished 26 x per year.
Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 6 x per year.

Fiction Open

Dates:
Open to fiction submissions through 30 September 2021* (approx. 12 days from now). 22
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Climate30 Sep 2021*3
Work30 Sep 2021*7
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionUp to 1,000 words; Up to 3 pieces.
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 7,500 words.
Novel Excerpt Novel ExcerptUp to 7,500 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Open

Query first for book reviews.

Dates:
Open to nonfiction submissions through 30 September 2021* (approx. 12 days from now). 0
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Literature/Books (Theory/Analysis/Criticism), Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Climate30 Sep 2021*2
Work30 Sep 2021*2
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Review ReviewNo specific word count limits known.
Essay EssayUp to 1,000 words; Up to 3 pieces.
Essay Essay1,000 - 7,500 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Open

Dates:
Open to poetry submissions through 30 September 2021* (approx. 12 days from now). 32
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics, including: Other (May vary).
Theme(s):
ThemeDeadlineTrack
Climate30 Sep 2021*8
Work30 Sep 2021*7
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 6 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem) Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Kenyon Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 12 Sep 2021
Last Checked: 01 Sep 2021 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 12 Aug 2021 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 29 Jul 2005

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.