Skip to Content

The Cincinnati Review 1,063

See other projects related to this listing

Recent cover image or website screenshot for The Cincinnati Review © The Cincinnati Review

Go to publication's website

Report:
Submission/Response
Correction/Update
New Cover Art

Request (Editors only):
Interview
Duosuma Submission Manager

Support this Publisher:
Subscribe


About

Established in September 2003, The Cincinnati Review draws together within its pages the finest creative and critical work from across the country. We provide a venue for writers of any background, at any point in their literary careers, to showcase their best writing. Each issue also features a portfolio of artwork from a local or national artist.

Want more insight into the editors' preferences? Read our interview with the editor(s).

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 2003

Publication Medium & Frequency

Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 2 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2021* (approx. 73 days from now) through 01 January 2022. 18
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Flash Fiction Flash FictionUp to 1,000 words.
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 7,500 words.
Novelette Novelette7,500 - 10,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2021* (approx. 73 days from now) through 01 January 2022. 1
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Essay EssayUp to 5,000 words.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:
Will be open to submissions from 01 September 2021* (approx. 73 days from now) through 01 January 2022. 19
Audience:
Open to a broad Audience.
Genres:
General General
Poetry Forms:
Open to all/most Forms.
Styles:
Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.
Topics:
Open to all/most Topics.
Types/Lengths:
TypeLength Details
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 5 pieces.
Payscale:
We list broad pay categories rather than payment specifics. Check with the publisher for details.
Semi-pro payment (US$5-49 per poem) to Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem) Pay ranges from Semi-pro payment (US$5-49 per poem) to Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem).
Submissions:
ElectronicPostalReprintsSimultaneousMedia
OK No No OKText format submissions
Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

Visual Art Closed

This project has permanently closed to submissions in this category.

The Cincinnati Review Submission Statistics

More Information is Available to Subscribers: Only the basic information for this listing is currently visible. If you want to learn more about this listing, including submission statistics (average response time, rejection percentage, acceptance percentage, etc.), you need to subscribe. See a sample of what you're missing.

Dates

Last Updated: 31 May 2021
Last Checked: 29 Apr 2021 We check each active listing's guidelines page for changes once a month (if compliant).
Last Audited: 31 May 2021 We audit each active listing twice a year.
Date Added: 16 Feb 2006

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Just remember…

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.