Skip to Content

The Dawn Review

About

31 members set this magazine as a Favorite.

Dawn means renewal. Dawn means the erasure of boundaries. Founded by poet Ziyi Yan, The Dawn Review is an international literary magazine publishing striking, original work. Instead of adhering to restrictive notions of what makes "good literature," we promote written and visual work that truly surprises us, whether through new language, new ideas, or new forms. Our issues are not split into genres, because we believe that creative expression is most powerful without the constraint of categorization. We love pieces that show us the truth by refracting it– that not only meditate on lived experiences, but amplify them, and force us to reckon with with the full scale of our humanity. As part of this ethos, we accept submissions on all themes, from creatives of all ages and demographics.

Want more insight into the editors' preferences? Read our interview with the editor(s).

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 2022

Publication Medium & Frequency

Electronic Publication Electronic PublicationPublished 3 x per year.

Fiction Open

Dates:

Open to fiction submissions through 05 July 2024* (approx. 11 days from now). 0

Audience:

Open to a broad Audience.

Genres:
General General
Lengths:
Flash Fiction Flash FictionUp to 1,000 words; Up to 3 pieces.
Short Story Short Story1,000 - 2,500 words; Up to 3 pieces.
Styles:

Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.

Topics:

Open to all/most Topics.

Payment:

No monetary payment No monetary payment.

Submissions:

Method: Online form.
Reprints: Reprints are NOT allowed.
Simultaneous submissions: Simultaneous submissions are allowed.
Media: Text.


Nonfiction Open

Dates:

Open to nonfiction submissions through 05 July 2024* (approx. 11 days from now). 0

Audience:

Open to a broad Audience.

Lengths:
Essay EssayUp to 2,500 words; Up to 3 pieces.
Narrative Nonfiction Narrative NonfictionUp to 2,500 words; Up to 3 pieces.
Styles:

Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.

Topics:

Open to all/most Topics.

Payment:

No monetary payment No monetary payment.

Submissions:

Method: Online form.
Reprints: Reprints are NOT allowed.
Simultaneous submissions: Simultaneous submissions are allowed.
Media: Text.


Poetry Open

Dates:

Open to poetry submissions through 05 July 2024* (approx. 11 days from now). 0

Audience:

Open to a broad Audience.

Genres:
General General
Lengths:
Poem PoemUp to 200 lines; Up to 5 pieces.
Poetry Forms:

Open to all/most Forms.

Styles:

Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.

Topics:

Open to all/most Topics.

Payment:

No monetary payment No monetary payment.

Submissions:

Method: Online form.
Reprints: Reprints are NOT allowed.
Simultaneous submissions: Simultaneous submissions are allowed.
Media: Text.


Visual Art Open

Dates:

Open to visual art submissions through 05 July 2024* (approx. 11 days from now). 0

Audience:

Open to a broad Audience.

Lengths:
Artwork ArtworkUp to 10 pieces.
Art Media:

Open to all/most Art Media.

Art Styles:

Open to all/most Art Styles.

Topics:

Open to all/most Topics.

Payment:

No monetary payment No monetary payment.

Submissions:

Method: Online form.
Reprints: Reprints are NOT allowed.
Simultaneous submissions: Simultaneous submissions are allowed.
Media: Image.


Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

The Dawn Review Submission Statistics — Free Preview!

The statistics in this section are compiled from submission reports sent to us through our submission tracker. They are not provided by the publication's editors/staff or by Duotrope's admins. Information in this section is updated a few times per day. Learn more about the statistics.
AccuracyWe have received 32 reports from 30 different members within the past 12 months, not including pending responses (see below). The more responses reported, the more accurate the information.
Days Reported0 min | 48.2 mean avg | 18.0 median | 396 max days (83.0 std dev)
Responses62.51 %
Acceptances3.13 % of submissions accepted (11.0 avg. days per acceptance) | 3.33 % of submitters accepted Rejections are often underreported, which skews the statistics in favor of acceptances. Most publishers have a lower acceptance rate than indicated here.
Rejections59.38 % (31.6 avg. days per rejection) | 15.8 % personal, 47.4 % form, 36.8 % unspecified
Non-Responses37.50 %
Lost/Returned-
Never Responded6.25 % (330.5 avg. days before reporting submissions as never responded)
Withdrawals31.25 % (26.9 avg. days per withdrawal)
Pending29 responses are pending (5 min | 43.1 mean avg | 36.0 median | 75 max days waiting | 23.4 std dev) from 28 different members This only includes pending reports from users who have been active on Duotrope within the past 30 days

Other Information

Most recent response reported was received on 22 May 2024.
Responses have been received for submissions sent as recently as 23 Dec 2023.

Work submitted here was also submitted to...

This section is available to subscribers only. Sign up and start your free trial today!

Members accepted here also had work accepted by...

This section is available to subscribers only. Become a member and start your free trial today!

Your Submissions

This section is available to subscribers only. Join today!

Dates

Last Updated: 04 Jun 2024
Last Audited: 10 Apr 2024. (We audit each active listing twice a year. Learn more at link.)
Date Added: 11 Oct 2022

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Duotrope listings do not imply endorsement or recommendation of the project being listed. Before submitting, you should use your own judgment to determine whether the project meets your standards.

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.