Skip to Content

The Paris Review 1,010

See other projects related to this listing.

About

Founded in Paris by Harold L. Humes, Peter Matthiessen, and George Plimpton in 1953, The Paris Review began with a simple editorial mission: “Dear reader,” William Styron wrote in a letter in the inaugural issue, “The Paris Review hopes to emphasize creative work—fiction and poetry—not to the exclusion of criticism, but with the aim in mind of merely removing criticism from the dominating place it holds in most literary magazines and putting it pretty much where it belongs, i.e., somewhere near the back of the book. I think The Paris Review should welcome these people into its pages: the good writers and good poets, the non-drumbeaters and non-axe-grinders. So long as they're good.”

Submission Caps: They may close to submissions early if they reach their quota. Check before submitting.

Country of Publication & Year Established

United States Established in 1953

Publication Medium & Frequency

Print Publication Print PublicationPublished 4 x per year.

Fiction Temp Closed

Dates:

Will be open to submissions from 01 June 2024* (approx. 11 days from now) through 30 June 2024. 16

Audience:

Open to a broad Audience.

Genres:
General General
Lengths:
Flash Fiction Flash FictionNo specific word count limits known (our definition: up to 1000 words).
Short Story Short StoryNo specific word count limits known (our definition: 1000 to 7500 words).
Novelette NoveletteNo specific word count limits known (our definition: 7500 to 15000 words).
Styles:

Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.

Topics:

Open to all/most Topics.

Payment:

Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Note: We list broad pay categories rather than prize specifics. Check with the publisher for details.

Submissions:

Methods: Submittable submission manager. Postal.
Reprints: Reprints are NOT allowed.
Simultaneous submissions: Simultaneous submissions are allowed.
Media: Text.


Nonfiction Temp Closed

Dates:

Will be open to submissions from 01 June 2024* (approx. 11 days from now) through 30 June 2024. 1

Audience:

Open to a broad Audience.

Lengths:
Essay EssayNo specific word count limits known.
Styles:

Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.

Topics:

Open to all/most Topics.

Payment:

Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word) Professional payment (5 or more US cents per word).
Note: We list broad pay categories rather than prize specifics. Check with the publisher for details.

Submissions:

Methods: Submittable submission manager. Postal.
Reprints: Reprints are NOT allowed.
Simultaneous submissions: Simultaneous submissions are allowed.
Media: Text.


Poetry Temp Closed

Dates:

Will be open to submissions from 01 July 2024* (approx. 41 days from now) through 31 July 2024. 7

Audience:

Open to a broad Audience.

Genres:
General General
Lengths:
Poem PoemNo line limits known; Up to 6 pieces.
Poetry Forms:

Open to all/most Forms.

Styles:

Open to all/most Styles, including: Literary.

Topics:

Open to all/most Topics.

Payment:

Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem) Professional payment (US$50 or more per poem).
Note: We list broad pay categories rather than prize specifics. Check with the publisher for details.

Submissions:

Methods: Submittable submission manager. Postal.
Reprints: Reprints are NOT allowed.
Simultaneous submissions: Simultaneous submissions are allowed.
Media: Text.


Always check guidelines for details and restrictions. If you aren't familiar with these terms, see our glossary.
* We do not know the time and/or timezone, so we cannot be more precise. Submit early to avoid disappointment.

The Paris Review Submission Statistics — Free Preview!

The statistics in this section are compiled from submission reports sent to us through our submission tracker. They are not provided by the publication's editors/staff or by Duotrope's admins. Information in this section is updated a few times per day. Learn more about the statistics.
This project ranks among the Extremely Challenging Fiction Publishers in our database.
This project ranks among the 25 Most Challenging Poetry Publishers in our database.
AccuracyWe have received 534 reports from 433 different members within the past 12 months, not including pending responses (see below). The more responses reported, the more accurate the information.
Days Reported0 min | 95.4 mean avg | 90.5 median | 362 max days (41.2 std dev)
Responses95.50 %
Acceptances0.37 % of submissions accepted (55.5 avg. days per acceptance) | 0.46 % of submitters accepted Rejections are often underreported, which skews the statistics in favor of acceptances. Most publishers have a lower acceptance rate than indicated here.
Rejections95.13 % (97.4 avg. days per rejection) | 2.8 % personal, 74.4 % form, 22.8 % unspecified
Non-Responses4.50 %
Lost/Returned-
Never Responded0.19 % (236.0 avg. days before reporting submissions as never responded)
Withdrawals4.31 % (49.8 avg. days per withdrawal)
Pending93 responses are pending (24 min | 74.2 mean avg | 48.0 median | 324 max days waiting | 58.0 std dev) from 87 different members This only includes pending reports from users who have been active on Duotrope within the past 30 days

Other Information

Most submissions are acknowledged within one day.
Most recent response reported was received on 17 May 2024.
Responses have been received for submissions sent as recently as 16 Feb 2024.

Work submitted here was also submitted to...

This section is available to subscribers only. Sign up and start your free trial today!

Members accepted here also had work accepted by...

This section is available to subscribers only. Become a member and start your free trial today!

Your Submissions

This section is available to subscribers only. Join today!

Dates

Last Updated: 02 May 2024
Last Audited: 08 Jan 2024. (We audit each active listing twice a year. Learn more at link.)
Date Added: 02 Aug 2005

Before Submitting

We cannot guarantee that the information on this page is correct. It is not unusual for publications to evolve or close without notice. We do our best to keep up, but it isn't always possible. Duotrope listings do not imply endorsement or recommendation of the project being listed. Before submitting, you should use your own judgment to determine whether the project meets your standards.

  • Always read the full guidelines provided by the publisher.
  • Try to read at least one previous publication to get a better idea of what the editor would like to see.
  • Unless the publisher's guidelines state otherwise, always use industry standard manuscript formatting.
  • Be professional, patient, and persistent.